Posted in Posts, Recipe

Sailing away on a banana boat

Skip to recipe

Another jigsaw piece for my big PB post:) Banana’s are one of those things I had a love-hate relationship with as a child. One day I would have banana for breakfast, lunch and dinner. My mum would cut it into circles and I would spend weeks eating masses of bananas. But then, I would forget to eat bananas one day, and suddenly, I was completely convinced I hated bananas. Despite loving them the day before. I would continue being terrified of bananas until I accidently ate some or summoned up the bravery to try it again. Then the cycle would start again, with me loving bananas.

When I got a bit older, my mum would make me baked bananas. We’d have them hot with custard and it felt like the perfect food for a cold autumn evening. My sister came back from university and told me that her favourite thing to do was bake them with chocolate (so that it melted) then serve with ice-cream. Quite possibly the most amazing combination ever! And luckily, peanut butter is a pretty decent contender for the throne.

I was actually going through a banana hate phase (not fully grown out of them) when I wanted to make this post, so I forced myself to eat a banana – and I’m very glad I did:) It was hot, soft, sweet and creamy – all at once! IMG_0977Fill with peanut butter…

IMG_0984

BAKE! See, simple:)

Ingredients

1 banana

enough peanut butter to spread (about 1/2 – 1 tbsp.)

That’s it! (but feel free to add some chocolate chips or serve with cream/ice cream)

Method

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius (160 fan oven)

Slice the banana down the middle then fill with peanut butter (and chocolate chips if desired)

Wrap in foil by rolling it lengthwise then twisting the ends

Bake for around 20 minutes, but check it often so you can take it out once brown.

Enjoy!IMG_0989

2 thoughts on “Sailing away on a banana boat

Please let me know what you think!

