Posted in Posts, Recipe

Creamy chocolate and raspberry cake – Vegan and reduced sugar and fat

IMG_2202The clocks went back last night so I’ve missed out on an hour of sleep. This may not seem that long but it’s managed to make me feel exhausted! I had my Sunday breakfast treat of cinnamon French toast (I will post the recipe later as it’s egg free so a little different to most recipes) and now Jim has crawled onto my knee while I type!

I made this cake for my friends birthday. I always make animal free cakes so wasn’t really sure what to do  but she asked me if I could “please make it vegan, as they taste better!” I was very happy about this, so got to work straight away. I brought it into my creative writing club for her the next day and the cake got the thumbs up!

As usual, I started off with a basic recipe. When I was little, I was taught something along the lines of 170g flour, 100g sugar, 75g margarine and 2 eggs/ 2 tsp baking powder. However, I usually reduce the sugar down (we always did this for a member of my family who couldn’t have sugar) and lower the margarine as it doesn’t really change the cake much. Then, I started experimenting a bit. The scales ended up being pushed to one side and I just threw whatever would work in! It seems to have done the trick though.

I use the same filling recipe for a lot of my cakes (with the flavourings adapted to suit what it’s going in). The tofu, cream cheese and corn flour mix works very well and creates a thick, creamy, mousse-like filling. I usually add a little peanut butter but I realise quite a lot of people have an allergy to nuts, so I left this out. It works especially well when mixed with fresh strawberries – I used this as one of the many fillings in my three layer Neapolitan cake a while ago.

The actual cake isn’t too sweet. It rises well and is lovely and moist but then you add the sweet, creamy filling, the rich dark chocolate and the tart raspberries and it just brings it all together! It is best eaten after it’s had a chance to cool as the filling goes all lovely and thick and the melted chocolate forms a delicious shell!

For those of you with allergies, this cake is free from:

Egg

Dairy

Nuts

And animal products (Suitable for vegans)

It is also low in sugar and fat with no cholesterol.

 

Ingredients

 

Cake

170g  flour

50g sugar (un-refined, I don’t like massively sweet cakes so you might want to up this to around 100g. Alternatively, you could use about 50g of truvia, xylitol or a different sweetner – this would be as sweet as the 100g sugar option)

50g dairy free margarine

50-70 mls of soya milk, or any other kind of plant milk (unsweetened)

2 tsp (flat) cocoa (unsweetened)

1 – 2  tsp of baking powder

2 tsp of egg replacement (optional)

Extra soya milk (if needed) to get the mixture to the right texture

 

Filling

¼ block of silken tofu

1 tsp unsweetened cocoa

1 tsp vegan chocolate spread (I used plamil)

1 – 1.5 tsp Stevia or 4 – 5 tsp of sugar

1 tsp cornflower

1 tbsp dairy free cream cheese

Soya milk to the right texture

Topping

2 bars of Plamil sugar free chocolate (or about 80g of a different brand)

50g of mixed berries (frozen or fresh)

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp of icing sugar (optional)

20 – 30 mls of warm water

Raspberries to garnish

Method

 

  1. Preset the oven to 170 degrees fan ovenIMG_2200
  2. Combine the margarine and soya milk in a bowel then – once blended – add the sugar.
  3. Next, sieve the flour, baking powder and cocoa in and fold till blended.
  4. If the mixture is too thick/stodgy, add some soya milk to thin it.
  5. Grease and line 2 cake tins and pour in equal amounts of mixture before baking for about 30 minutes or until light brown and springy. Push a cocktail stick or knife into the middle to test. If it comes out clean, the cake is clean.
  6. While the cake cooks, prepare the filling by mixing all ingredients in a blender (handheld works best). It will be smooth, thick and creamy when done.  Make sure there aren’t any lumps. Feel free to add extra flavourings or sweetener if necessary.
  7. Once the cake is cooked, leave it to cool while you melt the chocolate in a Bain-marie (A glass bowl over boiling water on a heat).
  8. Prepare the raspberry sauce  by blending the raspberries, water  and lemon juice until smooth.
  9. When the cake has cooled, cover one half with the filling and then place the top on.

Finally, cover the top with melted chocolate, sprinkle with chocolate, drizzle the raspberry sauce and arrange the raspberries on top. Serve hot or save for later (the chocolate will harden and make a crunchy shell).  Enjoy!

In the time it took me to write this, Jim moved from my knee so that he could drag a teddy around the room in his mouth and Rosie slowly pushed me off my beanbag. Oh dear, I’ve even started talking about cats in a recipe! I feel like I might be slowly turning into the crazy cat lady from The Simpsons sometimes! (I’m a little nicer to cats than she is though).

7 thoughts on “Creamy chocolate and raspberry cake – Vegan and reduced sugar and fat

  1. Lovely. I have plenty of raspberries in Summertime from our garden, so I love to use them in baking.
    Thanks for stopping by on my blog. Glad to have found yours. Like the calico cat 🙂

    Like

      1. They are very easy to grow, if you have the space for it.
        Tip: don’t ever buy raspberries plants in a shop. If you have gardeners in your surroundings who have raspberry plants, ask for some shoots, I give away about a 100 of side shoots each year (if I wouldn’t my garden would turn into a rasberry forest 😉

        Like

Please let me know what you think!

